Easter Sunday.

Happy Easter Sunday readers!!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Today my beautiful wife Ashley started our Easter Sunday off with the greatest gift this boy could ask for…. CHOCOLATE, and even more CHOCOLATE.  She surprised me with a bag of Cadbury Mini Eggs, and my favorite the crispy rice chocolate easter bunny.  Sadly I was a bad Easter Bunny and forgot to hide some chocolate and candy for Ashley, guess I’m gonna really have to go big next Easter.

 

 

We did our second training run in as many mornings today, thankfully it was considerably warmer today than yesterday (no toque required, just running mitts).  We ran the same route today as yesterday, and successfully shaved about 30 seconds off our time.  Yes it’s a small decrease in time, but it’s all about improvement big or small.

 

 

 

 

After our run we had our post run breakfast (per person):

-2 scrambled eggs with onion, and chili flakes

-2 slices whole wheat toast with low-calorie margarine

-1/4 large banana

-12 green olives

-mug of coffee (coffee a must with every breakfast for me)

 

Post breakfast has been a morning/early afternoon of cooking, starting with a pot of mashed potatoes for 8 people to take to my mom’s today for Easter dinner.  While normally I would have made the mashed potatoes with likely some onion on peppers in them along with peels on for this occasion I had to make them super simple (potatoes, butter, milk and salt & pepper) then mixed in the Kitchen Aid stand mixer.

My other contribution to the dinner tonight at my mom and step dad’s house is a loaf of Banana Chocolate Chip bread.  The recipe I use for this is one that we use at my work with a few little changes of my own.  Largest changes i have made is a decrease in salt, and flour, as well as eliminating the use of nuts of any kind (I suffer from a severe nut allergy of all types including peanuts (yes I know peanuts are technically a legume).

My Recipe per loaf:

-4 soft ripe bananas (if you don’t have soft ripe bananas just peel and place in microwave 45 seconds/banana)

-1 cup white sugar

-2 extra-large eggs

-1/2 cup softened but not melted butter or margarine

-1/2 tablespoon baking powder

-1/2 tablespoon baking soda

-1/4 tablespoon table salt

-1 3/4 cup flour (I just use all-purpose white flour but you can use whole wheat too if you prefer)

-1/2 cup un-sweetened chocolate chips

 

Mix all ingredients except the chocolate chips in mixer until a nice batter consistency has been reached.  Once batter consistency has been reached add chocolate chips and mix for about 25-30 more seconds.  Line a regular sized loaf pan with parchment paper and pour bread batter into lined loaf pan.  Bake loaf in 350 degree oven for about 55-65 minutes or until loaf is firm and you can insert a toothpick and have it come out dry and clean. once done remove from pan and let cool (about 1hr), and enjoy!!

 

Hope you all are enjoying your Easter Sunday, and the time with your friends and family assuming you celebrate the holiday and if not I hope you’re just enjoying the final day of your weekend.

 

-Ben-

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

