Surprise Saturday Date Night.

For those of us married folk, or even those in a committed relationship, two things are common in every relationship: we all like to be surprised and we all like to surprise our wife, husband, girlfriend, or boyfriend right?

Yesterday I gave my wife (Ashley) the surprise of a romantic dinner just the two of us at the restaurant “Sky 360” atop the Calgary Tower.  What sparked this dinner plan was the desire to surprise Ashley with a romantic dinner somewhere she had never been before in Calgary, and always wanted to eat at.  I had some time yesterday morning alone while she was out with her mom, so I called the restaurant and made a reservation for us which I received the last available booking for the night at 9pm.  All I told Ashley once she was home yesterday was that I was taking her out for dinner, and dinner was at 9 o’clock and that she should wear something dressy, and that she wouldn’t find out where we were going until we got there last night.

Once we got to the base of the “Calgary Tower” we found ourselves staring at two doors, each leading to a different restaurant.  One door lead to “Ruth’s Chris Steak House”, and the other to the observation deck of the tower and “Sky 360 revolving restaurant”.  When Ashley saw me open the door to “Sky 360” her eyes lit up and she showed a happiness beyond what I had hoped to see with this evening.

The views from the observation deck of the tower are absolutely breathtaking views of this beautiful city we call home.  Here are a few different views from our night last night overlooking downtown Calgary, and the outer edges of the city.

Top Left: The two tallest buildings in Calgary, (left: Suncor Energy, Right: The Bow)
Top Right: looking straight down at the intersection of 9th ave and center st.
Bottom Left: Calgary Stampede grounds, including “Scotiabank Saddledome” (home of the Calgary Flames hockey club)
Bottom Right: Western downtown with a hint of Northwest Calgary.

 

After our stroll around the observation deck it was off to our dinner at “Sky 360” for a romantic dinner in the revolving restaurant.  I had to drink 2 Sky 360 cocktails, and to eat the Curried Carrot soup for an appetizer, followed by the roasted lamb with seasonal vegetables for the main course.  For dessert I had the strawberry rhubarb cheesecake which came on a crust made of a gingersnap cookie which for me was beyond being the perfect crust just based on how much I love gingersnap cookies.

Unfortunately I forgot to get a picture of the Strawberry Rhubarb cheesecake, but trust me it was beyond amazing and yummy!

 

Last nights dinner date with my wife was easily one of the best “date nights” I’ve had with Ashley in four and a half years together (between dating, and marriage), and it also provided 2 of the best looks I’ve ever seen from Ashley.

I hope you all had a great Saturday night, and that this week you will all take the time and give the effort to truly surprise the one you love!

xoxo

-Ben-

Leave a Reply

