Father’s Day Weekend Recap.

What a busy weekend this past “Father’s Day” weekend was.  Ashley and I had her dad out from Manitoba for the weekend and to celebrate Father’s Day with him.  It was really nice having him in town to celebrate with, also it provided a weekend full of activities for Ashley and I to do with her family including her mom, and younger brother who both live here in Calgary too.

I started this weekend with a great training run Friday afternoon in preparation for my upcoming Stampede Road Race half marathon on Sunday July 8.  Friday afternoon I went out for a 7 mile run in 1:13:29 (just over half the distance that I will run in the half marathon, 13.1 miles).

 

Saturday brought a full day of family time with Ashley’s dad (Gerry), her mom (Cheryl), and younger brother (Ryan), and even Cheryl’s dog Diesel.  Here are some pictures from our fun-filled family Saturday.

Ashley spending some time with Diesel the pooch!

 

Top left: Me and my amazing mother-in-law Cheryl
Top right: my father-in-law Gerry, brother-in-law Ryan, and I having an ice cream break in the sun.
Bottom left: Ashley, with her dad, and brother playing mini-golf.
Bottom right: a family game of mini-golf.

 

In preparation for my upcoming half marathon I had to take a little trip to “The Running Room” to pick up a iPhone running armband, and a package of Jelly Belly energy beans.

 

After a full day of shopping, mini-golf, visiting, and eating, Ashley, Gerry, and I capped a great day with some homemade margaritas!

 

Sunday brought forth another great family filled day, starting with a lovely brunch that I took my dad (papa Eating, Living, Running) for just the two of us while Ashley took her dad out for a nice father/daughter brunch just the two of them.

My breakfast brunch skillet. Scrambled eggs, hash-browns, sausage, and whole wheat toast with a little grape jam.

 

the soon to be world-famous “Papa Eating, Living, Running” and I after our father/son “Fathers Day” brunch.

 

Sunday night we had a great Father’s Day dinner (me, Ashley, her dad Gerry, mom Cheryl, and her younger brother Ryan), that I made while Gerry, and Ryan went to watch Ashley play volleyball late Sunday afternoon.

Getting ready to grill the potatoes, and steaks, and yes steaks cook better when you have a beer to go along with the cooking.

 

Father’s Day supper time: Steak, potatoes, carrots, asian salad, shrimp, and of course the red wine.

 

Unfortunately a great weekend ended on a sour note for me with me having a bout of the flu yesterday spoiling my day off from work yesterday.  However aside from the Monday flu this was a truly amazing weekend filled with family, fun, and food, and yes even some running.

I hope you all had a great Father’s Day weekend with a special dad or two in your life.

-Ben-

2 thoughts on “Father’s Day Weekend Recap.

  1. Great post & great info! I nominated you for the “Lovely Blogger Award” because I think your blog is awesome and you offer so much great, useful information Swing by my blog to see more about this award! Look forward to reading more from you! 🙂
    -Jesica (runonorganic.wordpress.com)

    • Awwww.. Thanks Jesica. You have no idea how honored I am by this. I’m so happy you’re reading my blog and enjoying it. I love your blog as well and look forward to more of your blog as well. 🙂

      -Ben- (eatinglivingrunning.wordpress.com)
      (benncarrier) instagram

      0r follow me on twitter at either: @benncarrier and @eatinglivingrun

Leave a Reply

