I’m Really Gonna Do This.

So it’s official I’m gonna run my first ever half marathon this weekend.  Not that there was ever any real doubt that I would, given that I had registered and paid my entry fee a little over a month ago, not to mention all the hard work, dedication, and training runs I have put in over the past 6 weeks training almost everyday for this run. But today I went and picked up my race package including my shirt, race number, and a bunch of other runner swag.

Race Package.

Along with picking up my package there were just a couple other obvious signs that running this race this Sunday is in fact the right thing to do, and that the time has indeed come to run my first ever half marathon.

The signs started this morning while I was texting with my uncle who has run a few half marathons in his life.  He was giving me advice that he received before he ran his first half marathon, most of which I was already aware of, but it still is nice to receive pointers from people who have been down this road before as well as messages of support and encouragement.

 

Runner’s World, August 2012

The second obvious sign that the time was now and that me running my first ever half marathon truly is meant to happen this Sunday came in the form of my mail today.  Today when I arrived home and got the mail I saw that I had received the latest issue of  “Runner’s World” (August 2012 issue).  Now what really tipped me off was what the theme of this issue is, as it focuses on setting yourself up for success in running 13.1 miles or a half marathon.  I have yet to actually begin reading this issue but I can’t wait to start it either in bed tonight or tomorrow morning on my way to work at the latest.

Now all three of these happenings today just furthermore prove to me that I really have made the right choice.  I wont lie to you I’m both absolutely overjoyed and excited as well as terrified beyond belief, I just want Sunday morning to come soon so I have less time to possibly over think things, but at the same time I wanna be able to soak it all in.

For now I am thinking about work tomorrow as tomorrow (Friday July 6th) marks the official to the 2012 Calgary Stampede, the 100th anniversary of “The Greatest Outdoor Show on Earth”, and I have a busy day as Catering Sales Manager coordinating 2 large Stampede breakfasts consisting of eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, hashbrowns, and other yummy goodies.  So with that in mind I should be getting into bed and getting rested up for the morning, and starting to build up some extra rest in preparation for Sunday’s big run.

If any of you have any tips or advice for a first time half marathoner please share or even just any good stories. I would love to hear about your first time, or advice you have.

Goodnight beauties!

-Ben-

Leave a Reply

