Doing a second half marathon.

What a crazy whirlwind of a week this past week has been. Starting with running my first ever half marathon last Sunday and doing it in a time of 2:25:07 beating my time goal by just under 5 minutes at the “Stampede Road Race” here in Calgary. Then having my beautiful loving wife Ashley return home from her mother/daughter Mexican cruise with her mom last Sunday night.After having Ashley home it was time for a week filled with “Calgary Stampede” festivities, both work related and free-time related.

The ever-popular Cowboy boot beer glass at “Craft Beer Market” celebrating the 100th anniversary of the Calgary Stampede.

“Cowgirl Ashley” Yee-Haw!!

A typical free Stampede breakfast, consisting of: pancakes, sausage, and juice box.

Married cowpolk getting their Honky-tonk on at legendary country bar “Ranchman’s” during the “Calgary Stampede”.

And of course the beer that is consumed during Stampede week. haha!

 

Also this past Friday Ashley and I along with her wonderful mom (Cheryl), and “mama ELR, and step dad ELR” we went to the Broadway musical “Jersey Boys”.  If you haven’t seen or are un-familiar with what “Jersey Boys” is about, it’s  about Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons, and their rise to stardom.  I highly recommend this musical to anyone and everyone.  It is filled with everything that you could ask for in a musical: happiness, romance, sadness, triumph, and even (if it’s your thing) a slight touch of violence.  I wont tell you anymore as I truly hope you all have the opportunity if you haven’t already to go see it.

The stage set for “Jersey Boys”

 

One final highlight of this past week was me and Ashley’s decision to sign up for this August 19th’s running of the “Canadian Derby, Edmonton Marathon” half marathon.  This will be my second half marathon ever, and second this summer, and it will mark Ashley’s first half marathon race.

This race is very important to both of us, as I am running it with Ashley not only as a running buddy but also as a running coach, and sense of support for her out there along the course.  This race is very special to me also for the fact that Ashley had to miss my first half marathon last Sunday due to the last morning of her cruise, and this time not only will she get to see me cross the line after my second half marathon but she and I will cross the finish line together hopefully hand in hand marking her first half marathon completion.

We started the re-training for the “Canadian Derby, Edmonton Marathon” half marathon this morning after I had taken a week off running since my half last Sunday with a beautiful 10km/6.2 mile river run this morning here in Calgary.  Throughout the next 4 1/2 to 5 weeks we will continue our training for our half on Sunday August 19 in Edmonton.

I hope you all had a great week, and weekend this weekend.  I’d love to hear any great or fun stories you have from the past 8 days.

Have a terrific Monday!

-Ben-

Leave a Reply

