Swim, Run, Bourne, but No Bike.

Happy Sunday night or Monday morning lovely readers, I hope we all had a fabulous weekend!  I had a wonderful weekend from the get go starting with seeing the latest Jason Bourne flick “The Bourne Legacy” starring Academy Award Nominee from the “Hurt Locker” Jeremy Renner.  Now as someone who was a huge fan of the original I admit I didn’t go into this movie with the highest of expectations.  I however have to say now the movie definitely exceeded my expectations.  I don’t want to say anything more really and end up spoiling it for you, just go see it for yourself.

Now to update you all on my left ankle injury; I have with the exception of last Friday and my 7 hour workout, and swim session spent the last 14 days doing minimal physical activity involving my left leg and foot as to give it as much rest as possible in preparation for me and Ashley’s half marathon in Edmonton next Sunday.  With all this rest my left foot and ankle have had the opportunity to fully heal from it’s “hyper-extension”.

Last night I went to really test out my healed ankle in the pool with a 90 minute swim.  With last lights swim I swam 3 of the common strokes (freestyle, back stroke, and butterfly).  I have all my life been a very strong freestyle, and butterfly swimmer but not so much on the back stroke, but to my surprise I have definitely been improving on that stroke.  Last night for my swim I went back to the Talisman Center here in Calgary to take advantage of their discount night rates for the last 90 minutes of the night where adults can have full access to the entire facility for 50% off, plus it was a great chance for me to try out my new “SPEEDO endurance” swim racing shorts, and Speedo swim cap.  Also I took Ashley with me to the pool for some hardcore swimming last night, and it was so much fun to have a swim training buddy. 

After a hardcore all-out 90 minute swim nothing satisfies a ravenous hunger quite like “pizza by the slice” and Powerade, haha!

 

This morning we started the day off watching the final major event of the “London 2012 Summer Olympics”: Men’s Basketball gold medal game between USA and Spain.  This game was a real nail biter right to the end with the USA winning in the end.  Along with the basketball gold medal game I made a delicious batch of Banana Chocolate Chip Pancakes along with black coffee and half a grapefruit for breakfast.

Later this afternoon we went for a light 4 mile run for me to test out my ankle running before next Sunday’s half marathon in Edmonton.  I have to again say while I eased off the gas somewhat on todays run from where I’m normally at I feel very confident in me and my ankles ability to complete the race and complete it in a respectable time.  Also  I’m really looking forward to running this half marathon with my lovely wife.

The only thing I missed doing this weekend was biking, but that was ok since I’m really not a big biking fan, haha!

I hope you all had a wonderful fun and fitness filled weekend!

Thanks for taking the time to read about mine, I hope you weren’t bored or at least not too bored.

-Ben-

Leave a Reply

