Christmas 2012!

Happy December 27th everybody.  I hope you all had an amazingly wonderful and unforgettable Christmas 2012.  This was a very special and memorable Christmas for me for 2 reasons in particular.  First being this was the first Christmas for Ashley and I as a married couple. Now not to minimize how much I loved and cherished our previous Christmas’s, but I would have to say that spending this Christmas together as a married couple made this one just a little more special, and my favorite one to date with Ashley.  The second reason this Christmas was such a special and memorable Christmas was that this was also my first Christmas as an uncle to my amazing nephew Landen.

5

Christmas morning started off with Ashley and I doing gifts and brunch at her mom’s house with her mom and younger brother (Ryan).

Christmas morning, and time to open gifts.

Christmas morning, and time to open gifts.

This has to be my all time favorite gift tag.  One of my Christmas gifts from Ashley (Sport) to me (Benson).

This has to be my all time favorite gift tag. One of my Christmas gifts from Ashley (Sport) to me (Benson).

Christmas 2012 round 1, gift haul.

Christmas 2012 round 1, gift haul.

Some of the gifts I got from Christmas morning with Ashley’s mom, and brother included: True Religion jeans, a Lululemon hoodie, 2013 Green Bay Packers wall calendar, Lululemon underwear, a FitBit One fitness tracker which I’m very eager to try out just as soon as I get it hooked up to my computer and learn how to use it to my advantage (haha), a couple CD’s, and yes even a Blue Ray copy of “Katy Perry, Part of Me” go ahead and laugh all you want I know you want to haha, and of course socks.

Christmas afternoon and evening/dinner was spent with the ELR family starting at my mom’s, and then off to my aunt and uncle’s for a lovely and very festive Christmas dinner; where everybody LOVED my banana chocolate chip loaf, and apple-cherry crisp that I baked on Sunday to take as our desserts for Christmas dinner which was a huge relief to me as I wasn’t too sure how the crisp was going to turn out given that this was my first attempt, but I have to admit it did turn out pretty darn good. 😉

Rockin' the new jeans, and Lulu hoodie to Christmas dinner.

Rockin’ the new jeans, and Lulu hoodie to Christmas dinner.

Ashley, and Mama ELR with me at Christmas dinner.

Ashley, and Mama ELR with me at Christmas dinner.

Yesterday brought Boxing Day shopping day for Ashley and I, as we both had acquired an abundance of gift cards and money for Christmas.  Some of our notable stops on the shopping circuit yesterday included stops at Old Navy, American Eagle, Lululemon, and of course Victoria’s Secret (for Ashley of course).  The day of shopping lasted 6 hours which for both of us was the longest single trip to the mall either of us had ever made.  When we arrived at the mall at 7:30am the mall was quite quiet and peaceful, but by the time we left at 1:30pm it had gotten just a tad more than absolute insanity.  Despite the massive crowd at the end we were able to pick up some amazing deals and had a pretty fun time in doing so.

gift cards, gift cards, and even more gift cards.

gift cards, gift cards, and even more gift cards.

All is calm at Victoria's Secret at 7:30am.

All is calm at Victoria’s Secret at 7:30am.

Thank-you Mama and Step Dad ELR, and my beautiful late Grandma for the Lululemon gift cards that got me the running beanie and gloves.

Thank-you Mama and Step Dad ELR, and my beautiful late Grandma for the Lululemon gift cards that got me the running beanie and gloves.

Last night we did our Christmas number 3 with Papa and Step Mom ELR, and my aunt on my dad’s side.  This was without a doubt the quietest of the three Christmas’s we’ve done thus far, but very nice and cozy none the less.  This Christmas gift exchange was basically a gift card swap so to say, as the only actual gift that was given was a sweater to my dad from Ashley and I.

After our first three Christmas’s were done (yes that’s right there’s still one more to come we will be doing one final Christmas either tomorrow or Saturday night with Ashley’s dad when he arrives in Calgary from Manitoba), I have to say while actual gifts are always so much fun to open at Christmas, I will say that as you get older and in this day and age where everybody is always buying stuff throughout the year for themselves gift cards are in most cases the most practical way to give gifts.

Last night to wind down after all the hustle and bustle of the previous couple days Ashley and I decided to have her mom’s dog “Diesel” over for a sleepover with us and we began watching one of my favorite Christmas-y movies ever Die Hard (yes it is a “Christmas movie” just not a conventional Christmas movie.

Tonight Ashley and I are spending a night away from home at the Hyatt Regency in downtown Calgary and a romantic dinner for two out.  We’re doing this as a romantic pre-birthday birthday for me just the two of us before my actual birthday this coming Sunday.

Tomorrow will mark the end of the first week off work for both Ashley and I for our Christmas 2012 vacation time,  one week down, 6 days to go.  Also tomorrow I will be having my consultation and testing done to see if I am a suitable candidate for LASIK laser eye surgery.

I hope you all had an absolutely amazing Christmas 2012 with friends and family.  From myself and my family to you and yours “Merry Christmas” or more appropriate now perhaps “Seasons Greetings”

I would love to hear how your holidays went, especially if this was a particularly special Christmas, such as first Christmas married, or first with a special new family member.

-Ben-

Leave a Reply

