31 and Counting!

Yesterday marked yet another birthday for me.  Here I am another year older, but sadly not really any WISER. Haha!  Turning 31 yesterday I made it clear I didn’t want to make a big over the top deal.  Yeah like that’s really how it went down, lol.  Yesterday for my actual birthday I started my big day off going for a refreshing and energizing 2.5 mile birthday run with Ashley I suppose I should also mention cold as “bleep” run, it was MINUS 18 celsius with the wind chill/MINUS 0.4 degrees Fahrenheit.  Despite the cold and wind we still had a great morning run together.  From there it was time for birthday brunch at home with Ashley, her dad, and his girlfriend.  For the afternoon I won’t lie, I spent it like I do most Sunday afternoons during NFL season: watching my beloved Green Bay Packers, and drinking margaritas, haha!

Last night I went for the best and most fun birthday dinner I’ve ever had.  I went for dinner with: Mama and Step Dad ELR, Uncle ELR, Ashley, her brother, my mother-in-law, my father-in-law and his girlfriend.  For birthday dinner we went to in my opinion a Must Eat At here in Calgary, “Bolero”.  Bolero is an all you can eat Brazilian steak house with servers and gauchos with meat, mmmmm…. MEAT!!!  Needless to say nobody least of all I didn’t go home the least bit hungry, or drink deprived.  After dinner I was feeling just a tad ill, due to the fact that I had about 6oz worth of tequila in my margarita in the afternoon, and half a bottle of wine, half a pint of beer, and a “BLEEP” ton of food at Bolero at dinner.

While my birthday was yesterday I was also treated to a beautifully romantic birthday stay-cation night from my AMAZINGLY WONDERFUL BEAUTIFUL WIFE.  For my pre-birthday stay-cation night this past Thursday night Ashley took me to the Hyatt Regency Calgary with a swanky hotel room, and a romantic revolving dining room dinner at Sky 360 atop the Calgary Tower (191 meters above ground level.  For dinner we shared almond crusted rack of lamb, and roasted duck, with a lovely birthday cheesecake for dessert.

Finally this weekend I chose a birthday present to myself, a life changing decision.  I chose to undergo LASIK Laser Eye Surgery this upcoming Friday: January 4, 2013.  Getting LASIK is something I’m more than excited for considering I’ve been wearing glasses/contact lenses for about the last 18 years.  I will definitely be blogging about the procedure the week of January 7th.

Here are some pictures from my memorable 31st birthday this past weekend.

Ashley at the Hyatt, Thursday night.

Ashley at the Hyatt, Thursday night.

Birthday wine at the Hyatt.

Birthday wine at the Hyatt.

Lamb, Duck, birthday cheesecake, and wife at dinner at Sky 360 atop the Calgary Tower.

Lamb, Duck, birthday cheesecake, and wife at dinner at Sky 360 atop the Calgary Tower.

Birthday boy!

Birthday boy!

Best free or paid hotel brunch buffet EVER. Hyatt Calgary you do an amazing brunch buffet.

Best free or paid hotel brunch buffet EVER. Hyatt Calgary you do an amazing brunch buffet.

Birthday run buddies!

Birthday run buddies!

Birthday morning brunch made by my amazing wife.

Birthday morning brunch made by my amazing wife.

Birthday football game and margarita.

Birthday football game and margarita.

Birthday gift to myself = LASIK!!!! :) :) :)

Birthday gift to myself = LASIK!!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

I have to say this was an AMAZING 31st birthday.  Thanks to everyone who sent well wishes, and were apart of it.

-Ben-

Leave a Reply

