2013 Scotiabank Calgary Marathon.

I’m officially a MARATHONER!!!  As you may or may not be aware yesterday (May 26, 2013) I completed my first ever full marathon here in Calgary, AB at the 49th annual Scotiabank Calgary Marathon weekend.  I completed the marathon in a time of 5:42:06.

IMG_3385

 

The time I finished with was honestly a bit longer than I had been hoping for, but honestly the fact that I set a goal to complete this wonderful race, and followed through on it was an overwhelming feeling of self-worth, and gratification I can’t even begin to put into words.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The first 21.1 Km/13.1 miles were some of the best KM’s/miles I’ve ever run in all my years of running.  I started the race off at a slower more controlled pace, and was conserving my energy for the latter stages of the race.  Sadly at the beginning of the second half of the run I developed a wicked case of stomach cramp wich unfortunately lead to more walking and un-scheduled bathroom stops than I had initially bargained for costing me about 40-45 minutes in the end.  However despite these unexpected setbacks I had probably the most fun I’ve ever had running a road race in all my years of running, and for the first time in a long time I feel like I was able to pace myself, and run my race.  Also to my extreme excitement I had zero problems with my problematic right knee that has been operated on 6 times.

One of the biggest and best sources of support I had yesterday came from Ashley and our dog Diesel travelling around to different locations along the course to cheer me on in person, as well as having my dad, and step dad at the finish line with Ashley and Diesel to cheer me on and cheer me on very very very loudly the last couple hundred meters and crossing the finish line, and yes the water works were on in full force as I was coming down those last couple hundred meters, and across the finish line both from the pain my stomach was in, and from the pure satisfaction and enjoyment I was experiencing in that moment.

The course had a wonderful mix of hills, and flat stretches, constantly keeping me challenged, and keeping me wanting to push myself harder, further, & faster.

Probably the hardest part of the race for me was keeping myself in the zone and focused for that length of time especially as I was running alone just me and my 89 song playlist on the iPhone, consisting of upbeat and fast tempo songs I had ranging from The Black Eyed Peas, Bon Jovi, to Kenny Chesney. This time also made for some great thinking time, to think about such things as what all I would be writing in this very post, to will and do I ever want to run another full marathon, and the answer to this question is…. most certainly yes, but will it be this year, or will it be next year; this remains to be determined.

Below are some of the pictures of my big day!

IMG_1977[1]

 

 

me on the left only yards away from the finish line!

me on the left only yards away from the finish line!

 

yes the water works were on in full effect post race!

yes the water works were on in full effect post race!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

me and my coveted Marathon Finishers medal!

me and my coveted Marathon Finishers medal!

 

My "other" take home souvenier from yesterdays marathon: a massive blood blister on my big right toe. sorry I had to show it, lol!

My “other” take home souvenir from yesterdays marathon: a massive blood blister on my big right toe. sorry I had to show it, lol!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Thank-you each and everyone for taking the time and having the interest to read about my first ever marathon!

Love always

-Ben-

 

Leave a Reply

