1 Week Paleo Diet

Starting tomorrow I will embark on a one week Paleo Diet.  A Paleo diet is something I never would have really even considered trying until a few days ago when I began researching foods in and the benefits of a Paleolithic diet, and discovered while there are a lot of foods I will be saying good-bye to for the next seven days, there are more foods I will be continuing to eat.

Why am I doing a Paleolithic diet you may ask??? Because while I try to eat healthy or at least reasonably healthy most of the time, I am a huge sucker for sweets, high starchy and sugary foods, and especially grains ie: bagels, bread, cookies, etc…  And by doing a Paleolithic diet I am going to be cutting these foods, and yes my favorite: Beer and wine, and actually all forms of alcohol from my diet for the upcoming seven days.  Another reason is that lately I’ve been feeling honestly kind of moody and crabby and I am believing it to be a result of poor sleeping, poor eating, and in general poor care of myself both physically and emotionally, and by doing this Paleo diet I am desperately hoping to kick-start better body and mind care for myself, (fingers crossed). 🙂

Why am I choosing to do it for just a week?  Because this is my first attempt at a Paleolithic diet and I am actually jumping in cold turkey and while I am certain I will be more than able to make it the week, I am not looking to set an unrealistic goal right off the bat.  However if week one goes well there’s nothing that says I can’t or wont extend it beyond next Tuesday (September 10, 2013), or that I wont again try it and try it for a longer period in a couple of weeks down the road.

Over the course of the next seven day’s you will be able to view some of my Paleo diet pics on Instagram & Twitter by following me at: @BenELR .

Here are some guidelines of foods on a Paleolithic diet courtesy of the book: “Practical Paleo” and also found online @ : http://balancedbites.com/practical-paleo-tear-out-guides

PracticalPaleo_GuidetoPaleoFoods

PracticalPaleo_GuidetoCookingFats

PracticalPaleo_GuidetoFatsOils

PracticalPaleo_GuidetoFoodQuality

PracticalPaleo_GuidetoGluten

PracticalPaleo_GuidetoPaleoCarbs

PracticalPaleo_GuidetoPaleoPantry

PracticalPaleo_GuidetoSweeteners

*Please remember these are not the all mighty set in stone rules of a Paleolithic diet, they are merely guidelines.  These are however the guidelines I will be going by for the next seven days.*

I would love to hear you thoughts on Paleolithic diets, and your experiences with them if you have any.

Now to enjoy my final pre-Paleolithic diet meal….

-Ben-

Leave a Reply

